Tired Again

It was a good night at Reality Changers tonight. We’re getting near to the end of the school year and all the students who are going to four year schools have gotten their offers from those schools. I did see one guy who is not who seemed disappointed, but it’s hard to tell. He doesn’t seem like the happiest guy anyway.

Lots of smiling faces though. One guy is deciding where he’ll transfer after Cal State San Marcos. He wants to be a writer. He’s good and he knows it. Not in an arrogant way. He is simply confident that he has some skills and he’s confident that writing is what he wants to do. That’s so great. And somewhat unusual. Many of them know where they want to go, but what they want to do is different.

I’m glad to be a part of the program.

Tonight I was thinking about the possibility that I could use Kickstarter to fundraise to benefit Reality Changers. Here’s the website:
RealityChangers.org.

Maybe I could make an album (I can actually sing) and get people to donate to benefit our public speakers group within RC.

I know some local musicians who are actually professionals and this would allow me to kill two birds with one stone. I would like to be recorded before I get so old that my voice has changed.

Though I guess that’s not for sure. I saw Donovan on the Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame special the other night and he sounds the same even though he looks like Donovan’s grandfather.

I haven’t been this tired while writing for a while. Maybe not since high school. LOL

I remember staying up late a couple times. Once I only got about an hour’s sleep and decided that if I had to do that again it would be better to stay up all night. I remember laying my head on the pillow and then it was time to get up. What a weird sensation.

But some of these RC students stay up until 3 am or later on a regular basis. There’s that much work if they are in Advanced Placement classes. I really didn’t know what it took in high school like some of these students. Of course, it is worse today than back then. Even in middle school they do a lot more work than we did in the 70s.

I think that some things are being lost.

What they really need is the ability to think.

That’s not always being taught.

And they need more voices telling them how hard they need to work if they want to go to college. I think too many look at their peers or friends to see what they’re doing and that only helps if you’re around the really hard workers.

Some of them need to understand that some people they go to school with are going to be working in fast food or at least something much less demanding than being a lawyer, doctor, marine biologist, what have you…

That’s what happens when you are a first generation college student. Or candidate for college. There’s no one in your family to show you the way. There’s not enough in the budget for individual attention for all students from the counselors.

I don’t think they realize how pro-active they need to be.

Reality Changers are fortunate in that regard. The culture is about doing things differently. CHANGING their reality – the world that surrounds them.

So we will have the great graduation ceremony at USD on Sunday. There will still be RC meetings to keep them on track, but this early will make it possible for perhaps 2,000 people to attend.

Last year I couldn’t attend because my nephew was graduating on the same day as RC’s ceremony.

I’ve only been to one of these before. This is the whole shebang.

What do you know…spellcheck was ok with shebang.

We also have a graduation at each location and I’m sure that will be in a couple weeks here in Solana Beach.

There’s a girl graduating this year who has an older sister and an older brother who are both graduates of Reality Changers.

That’s cool. I remember when she was a freshman.

Now she’s been one of the big leaders of the group.

She even interviewed (is that the word?) at Harvard. She was nervous and postponed, but she eventually went.

She didn’t get in, but I’m sure she’s proud to have had the chance.

She has a lot of other schools to choose from.

That’s the ticket!

Leave a Reply

