Whatever Works

When I started using this writing exercise regularly on February 23 of this year I expected that I would write here to get the flow going and then write more after on another private blog so that I could get my novel done and published by December 30.

Don’t make a law of your methods. Though I definitely want to continue with my discipline of writing at least 30 days in a row and then having a couple days off or maybe writing 3 or 4 days out of a week and then back to the at least 30 days in a row (this is a long sentence!), I am finding that doing what gets the words onto the page is what really needs to be done.

Tonight I wrote first on my private blog and now I’m writing here. Another goal is that by Wednesday I’m writing 2000 or more words per day and soon after that 2500. Long term I expect to be able to write somewhere between 7500 and 15,000 words a day. We shall see how that goes.

Continuing to write so often makes the discipline seem more natural.

Like an extension of you. It’s just something you do because it’s part of you.

Here comes my wife to remind me that the dishes in the dishwasher are dirty.

Looks like I have other priorities in the next few minutes. Well, with what I’ve written here I have a total of over 1300 words tonight.

I need to kick it up a notch soon to reach my Wednesday goal.

Just a few more words and I’m there. Time to give my wife some time.

Leave a Reply

