What About Writing With A Time Crunch?

I must admit that I much prefer to write when I have plenty of time in front of me. Right now I need to get some writing in before I go to an event this evening. And someone is conversing with me on Facebook and my wife just came in and started talking to me. Oh…there’s Facebook again…

Now I’m back and my wife is talking about a new show that she watched yesterday. She’s not always cooperative when I’m writing. LOL

Time to get focused while she closes her eyes for a little nap.

My best advice is to not get involved in a time crunch. What I’m running into today is not an absolute make or break situation. Still, I recommend scheduling yourself well enough in advance so that actual time crunches are rare.

Make sure to set aside time where you won’t be or are very unlikely to be interrupted.

I want to revisit a topic I mentioned a few days ago. If I can just remember what it is…

I’m more tired than I thought. LOL

Since this is an exercise I’m going to keep writing. It will come to me. At some point.

I’ll talk a little about the conversation I’m having on Facebook. I like this person and I know that they’re trying to sell me something eventually.

What has bothered me about this kind of situation in the past is that this person hasn’t really asked how I’m doing recently and I met with him twice about a year ago to see if I could help him with a resource that he was looking for.

Now that he wants to sell me something he wants to ask me how I’m doing.

I could be wrong. He might simply want to ask me how I’m doing and get me to ask what he’s doing, but I think this goes to something that so many people don’t realize.

You need to nurture relationships. Even business relationships.

That way you have first – an improved quality of life as even your business relationships are more pleasant on average.

Second – when you have let those people know that you care about them and their success on even a basic level, then they are more likely to be receptive to what you’re selling.

Of course, you want to find out if they have a need for what you’re selling anyway.

If you just came out of a restaurant and you’re full, does it matter how cheap the all-you-can-eat buffet next door is? It doesn’t matter if it’s 99% off when you’re full. That would go for a gourmet restaurant, too.

When the glass is full you can’t fit any more in.

So knowing when someone is ready for what you’re selling is going to save you both time.

And nurturing that relationship before this current situation comes up will allow you a greater chance of already knowing whether or not this person is a good prospect at this time.

For just a second I thought maybe this person who was talking to me on Facebook might be able to see what I’m writing here. I am tired!

Then I realized that no one will see this until I publish it.

That’s something you want to be careful of too.

Years ago I was in life insurance and as we were walking to an appointment I said something about what the customer knew or didn’t know while we were in the parking complex where he lived. There were three of us going on this appointment as I was still technically in training and I was explaining some of what I knew to the others who didn’t really know him.

Just as we reached the end of a wall separating the two halves of the parking lot, my friend popped out the other side and said something like, “What is it that I don’t know?”

I explained honestly about what I had said about one of the guys experience with a particular product and how I had said it didn’t really matter that the customer – him – didn’t really need to know about that. My reasoning was that this guy was very experienced with mortgage products and it was just that this particular kind of mortgage (this was year’s before the crisis and unrelated to that kind of thing) would be his first sale of this kind. My friend was fine with what I had to say.

My coworkers were mixed in their reaction to me later. The mortgage guy had said he wished I could have said something else to my friend and the other guy had wanted me to out and out lie to my friend about what had transpired. I was shocked. I explained that I had learned my lesson about talking about something like strategy in proximity to where your client was, but there was no way I was going to lie to my friend. Once the cat was out of the bag I simply felt I had to speak the truth. I even asked my friend about it years later and he said that there was no problem between him and me. Anything that was wrong or potentially wrong there he had forgiven. It didn’t help my relationship with my colleagues and it might have been one nail in the coffin of my career that I decided to end. Years later I had simply had enough of that culture that I left to pursue entrepreneurial relationships.

But the lesson has stuck with me. I’m not talking about telling the truth. Hopefully that lesson is obvious to everyone.

The lesson to which I’m referring is being careful about where you say what you say. There could be at least dozens, if not hundreds of different situations where this advice would apply.

If you are really upset with a police officer and feel like cussing him out, wait until you’re at home. Don’t even say anything under your breath as he walks away. It’s not worth the risk.

That could apply to a potentially dangerous situation that you just barely got out of. Wait until you’re miles away before you discuss it.

I’m sure we’ve all seen at least one movie where someone can’t resist opening their mouth and then someone gets beaten up or worse.

Keep your wits about you and keep your mouth shut in those situations.

It amazes me how many people don’t learn that lesson. I’m a big guy and I’ve figured it out.

Sometimes I worry about my son because he’s not a big guy and I wouldn’t want him to shoot his mouth off to the wrong person.

I guess it’s a smart thing that he’s on his way to becoming a black belt. Just in case.

Leave a Reply

