Coughing Fit

Just finished some tuna with olives amd cayenne pepper. I guess I swallowed some wrong because I can’t seem to get it out of my throat fully. I keep having to cough every minute or so. Sometimes I wonder about how we’re built or how much we’re built to last. I couldn’t believe the coughing fit at first and sort of looked up at God, I guess. Is this just too much cayenne pepper or is it related to getting older? Not too long after that I kicked over a cup of water and had to move the computer from its spot on the floor. I don’t remember being this clumsy or fragile or forgetful when I was younger. Did I just not notice because I didn’t have aches and pains and hardly a care versus today?

I keep clearing my throat even as we speak. Sure, I could have been more careful or leisurely in the manner that I ate it. But humans do seem overly fragile to me. Why did God make us this way? Just a question…

Yes, we are resilient if we choose to be, but also fragile.

Recently I was concerned that our son was skateboarding without a helmet. I went to the hospital over 30 years ago because of a skateboard accident in a time when pretty much nobody wore helmets while skateboarding. I didn’t put two and two together when he told me that he and his friends were going skating. I would never have thought of shortening that word. Skateboarding. That’s what we called it and that’s what I called it until a couple days ago. Actually, I still call it that, but now I know that he’s not going to the skating rink which happens to be pretty close by.

My cousin’s son had a motorcycle accident a couple years ago without a helmet because he thought he was too cool I guess. He’s had some real problems and even told me that he lost some I.Q. points because of it. I know that we don’t have to invent or use things that are so dangerous for us, but couldn’t we be a little bit sturdier?

How many years ago did I read that Dr. Atkins, the creator of the Atkins Diet, died because he fell down on the sidewalk and fractured his skill? That was sad. Yet another example of how fragile we are.

I’m not quite sure where I’m going with this. I wasn’t thinking about it when I decided to write, but Sunday is Easter.

This being a writing exercise I’m not exactly sure how or whether this relates right now but I’m waiting for my unconscious mind to share something with my conscious mind. Nothing yet. More coughing.

There don’t seem to be any birds singing right now. I remember hearing them this morning in my bedroom with the window open. What a blessing to hear the songs of the birds. Quite a few in the vicinity of our backyard. Tonight I was hearing our dog running and breathing hard and now it sounds like he’s settled down. I can hear the freeway sounds. The flow of traffic sounds a lot like a far off waterfall. And there was the dog again.

My wife says that our dog has a friend on the other side of the fence and that’s new. He used to be the only one for a couple houses in either direction. I’m feeling a little mentally tired though not so much physically.

I’m sore from a workout two days ago! I did get in a little mile and a half walk today.

There’s the dog again and another one barked at him. At least I think it’s another dog. I can usually tell our dog’s bark.

Maybe fragility has been on my mind in more ways than one. I noticed that not as many new jobs were created last month and I hope that changes next month. I’d really hate to see things turn around and seriously hurt President Obama’s re-election chances. I know he’s far from perfect but I really think that Mitt Romney is second string at best. He sure looks like the Republican nominee now. Unless they have an almost unprecedented (in the modern era) brokered convention. Then who knows who the Republicans would pick.

Ever since George W. Bush and his cronies (perhaps not a completely appropriate word, yet it is appropriate in some of those cases) did things that I never expected, things have seemed more fragile.

Rights seemed to be rolled back and issues that we thought were long settled were re-argued or re-legislated. And now I never in a million years would have thought that so many people would be trying to restrict women’s access to birth control or reproductive rights. Just never occurred to me that any of that could seriously get any traction. Again, I thought that stuff was settled.

And in Wisconsin where they are supposed to have a 2/3 majority vote for laws to take effect immediately, they haven’t been following their own laws. Back when George Romney, Mitt’s father, was in politics in the 1950s they changed laws in Wisconsin. I think they might have had a state constitutional change. Part of the change was that laws that were enacted did not take effect until 90 days after the end of the legislative session. Because they are in session all year long that means that a bill passed in January of 2010 would not become enacted until March of 2012. The only way that you’re supposed to enact it earlier is with a 2/3 majority vote and the Republicans don’t have that without probably 10 Democrats.

Rachel Maddow pointed out that something like 96% of the laws that were passed in Wisconsin last year were enacted right away and in order to do that they actually cheated. I don’t know another better word for it. Their LAW, not simply legislative rules, but the Wisconsin LAW states that no law will be enacted immediately unless they have passed it with a 2/3 vote and I’m sure not all of those laws passed that way as many were vehemently opposed by the Democrats. This is an attack on Democracy, which is not supposed to be a fragile thing in terms of the people of this country and how they behave.

You can say that Democracy is a fragile thing in the sense that we need a military to protect us from foreign or terrorist powers or forces. But we are not supposed to be in the business of attacking Democracy from within, no matter what party you’re from.

It’s sort of scary that there are people in office in this day and age that would seek to undermine Democracy and the rule of law. To me that’s scarier than people who seem to want to get rid of government.

If the laws don’t count and certain groups of politicians can simply tell other groups of politicians that their votes don’t matter, how is that American and how does our system of governance survive?

3 responses

  1. Thoughtful, isn’t a sense of mortality part of being a writer, and perhaps a freedom lover too? Just to say: similar thoughts on the governance side are common in Europe, your post gave me a lot to think about over Easter: thank you 🙂

    1. Thanks for your insightful comments. Have you ever read Julia Cameron’s The Artist’s Way? Have a happy Easter!

  2. Reblogged this on Of Glass & Paper and commented:
    Our sense of fragility and aspiration for liberty must be part of the same thoughtfulness…

Leave a Reply

