Yes, It Rains In Southern California

This is some real rain today. Not a huge storm, but more than a drizzle. I’ve lived almost my entire life in this area. I’m from San Diego County and only spent a little less than two years chasing my honey into the Imperial Valley over 20 years ago when she was just starting out as a teacher. So I know what the weather is like here.

I am very sincere when I say that the last few years and maybe more than a few that the weather has become…um…unusual. It was cold not too long ago (for here) and then it was around 80 when it could be in the 40s during the night and I thought it was warming up and then it got a little cold again and now it’s raining. I realize that not all weather patterns are completely uniform, but we’ve been having overcast days and then it burns off in the afternoon.

It seems to me that we used to have that kind of weather in June, though we had more than just that – we had fog. Now we can have June gloom almost any time of year. People say there’s no climate change? Give me a break!

Now I don’t want to go into a complete rant, so let’s see where this goes.

Lots of people move here from all over and there are fewer and fewer people my age who can say that they are native to this area. That reminds me. Have you ever asked someone if they are a native? I’ve been amazed because more than every once in a while when I’ve asked someone that they seem offended. Like I mean native as opposed to civilized, I guess. I’m having some difficulty putting it into the words or meanings that seem to be in some people’s heads.

Sometimes people will look at me funny if I ask them if they’re a native. Like I’m somehow putting them down. And if we have a little bit more conversation it becomes clear to me that they aren’t thinking of someone who was simply born and raised in a specific area.

I’m not sure, but I think that might be a form of prejudice. The problem is that you don’t really want to explore that with the person as it can be pretty clear that you’ve ventured into an uncomfortable area. Maybe they realize what you meant at some point and then realize that they have given you a peek at part of the real them.

Or there could be some other definition or usage that I’m overlooking, but I don’t think so.

I do think there are more people who are prejudiced in this country than we realize or are willing to admit. Maybe someone doesn’t really think of themselves that way and then some conversation goes in a direction where that person let’s their guard down for a minute and then they get a glimpse of themselves that they didn’t really want to see. Or they make some excuse to themselves that they aren’t racist.

I don’t fully know what to make of people who take some small thing and then blow it up in importance and they seem to rely on that as some sort of proof why we’re not as racist a country as we are.

Last week I was talking to someone who seemed to think that a lot of people pretend that some problem is due to racism when it’s not. The example escapes me right now, but I tried to argue the other side and I’m not sure if they continued listening. I was pretty conversational and not confrontational and maybe that won’t work simply because they’re not open to having their mind changed. I don’t know.

The voting stuff is one clear place where there is some racism involved, but I don’t think those who want to make changes realize that because they probably just think they’re anti-Democrat.

You’ve probably heard of some of these laws being passed about voter I.D. and the like and the reason that they give is to prevent voter fraud. They ignore how miniscule a problem voter fraud is in this country and want to make sure that no one single person anywhere can vote unless they absolutely have the right and are the right person. So they make it so hard that lots of legitimate voters don’t get to cast a ballot in an effort to stop one theoretical cheater.

First, they ignore the fact that the real reason that they are doing this is to make sure there are fewer Democratic votes. So if you gave a lie detector test to many of them or sodium pentathol to force the truth out of them, they would admit that it’s strategy to help their party. Which just happens to be the Republican party. So they don’t really care about it so much. I guarantee that if it only meant there were fewer Republican voters able to vote, this would not be happening.

Second, this falls on disproportionately on people who may not have a driver’s license or that form of picture I.D. Those people are typically poorer than average and that group contains a disproportionate amount of African-Americans. Is that hyphenated?

So, just as a strategy they’ve decided to disenfranchise poorer and likely black voters in order to meet their goals.

Their ethics get completely disenfranchised. That is, those who are attempting to take the vote away from so many people. I’m not sure if disenfranchised is the correct word to use here, but you know what I mean.

So much for not going out on a limb, er, rant.

3 responses

  1. Okay…:-) Well I thought we were going to talk about the weather 🙂 And the rain has been pretty much pouring down here in the San Bernardino valley for most of the day, wind’s blowing now. Which is a given. I’m a native, born and raised right here, never having lived farther than 4 miles from where I live right now. For some reason I thought you lived north of me! lol! My son lives in Le Mesa. I will be down there at the end of the month for a car show!
    Okay politics and voting? Hmmm, most people don’t usually like to hear my views. I don’t care what they promise or who you put in there, they are just one person who’s hands are tied and it took longer than 4 years to screw up this country it’s going to take longer than 4 years to figure out how to fix it. Prejudiced, yes I am, against Illegal immigrants and I don’t care what country they came from, send them home and make them do it the way my ancestors had to.
    Good rant today 🙂

    1. Thanks! How long will you be here?

      1. Just for the weekend. The car show is the 30th, 1st and 2nd in Del Mar

Leave a Reply

