Listening To Pandora As I Write This

I don’t recall if I’ve posted this way previously. You can try different things and see what works best for you. Fresh from the shower and reclining in bed with a laptop on top of a pillow on top of me. Pandora is playing my Talking Heads station through my Kindle Fire. This is nice. For me.

This might not be ideal for you. You have to figure that out for yourself. Maybe you just need to have a different station on Pandora. I happen to like Talking Heads quite a bit and Mr. Jones is an interesting and fun song. Maybe you want silence or Sinatra or Kevin Bacon. Does he sing?

Friday afternoon and feeling relaxed. My wife is having some friends over and they take over the rest of the common area in our house when they get together. Six or seven usually. Besides, I love our bedroom. So, I can be tucked away for hours and out of their way. Maybe I’ll go for a walk later.

Where am I going with this? Not sure. Remember, that’s the point of Julia Cameron’s method. Just write. And write. And see what happens about 30 days in. Give or take. You can do it. You just have to give yourself permission.

If you think of it as unproductive, that could really get in your way of doing it or enjoying it. She has helped a lot of people unlock their creativity. And I’ve already gotten some compliments. Strategically, Tweet Geist Guy does follow a lot of writers and people who love books on Twitter. I might have told you previously that my thinking is that writers write. I assume that some writers who are Twitter will tell other people. And, if I get brave enough to have some tough criticism at some point, I’m sure I can find a few of them who are more than happy to step up. LOL

Oooh…love this music. The Buggles – Video Killed The Radio Star. Tears For Fears – Everybody Wants To Rule The World. My favorite genre is alternative music from the late 70’s and early 80’s. I do like a lot more than that and I stretch that definition when I start to include The Cranberries who really arrived in the 90’s.

I think that certain types of music can make you more productive and some of you may not agree, but maybe classical-type music is one of the best for opening the creative valve. I had a teacher in high school that introduced me to that idea. Alice Byrne. She was really something. I don’t think she thought I belonged in her advanced class, but I think I proved her wrong over a couple years. She was one of the first feminists that I actually knew and interacted with in my life. She really believed in education. Secondary education, to be specific. Ms. Byrne eventually got a Phd. and continued to teach in high school. THAT’S how important she thought high school education was and is. I assume she’s still around. I maintain contact with some of my classmates and haven’t heard about her passing.

Alice Byrne ran for the school board where she lived in Del Mar. This was the late 70’s before the backlash to feminism in the U.S. She ran on the slogan, “Mother’s Milk Pays Off”!
Now THAT’S a feminist! She won. Lots of people thought she was nuts to have that as her campaign slogan, but I’m pretty sure it wasn’t close.

She taught me about real literature. I still remember feeling sheepish when I asked her if Sounder qualified as great literature. I had no clue. I learned a lot from her. To this day, if you think anything of the way I write, I believe it’s mostly due to her. I got a better education in high school english from her and my 9th grade teacher than most people get in college today. I’m getting a little sentimental right now. Pause…

I am amazed that more people aren’t interested in reading and/or writing. I am fortunate in that I didn’t have any learning disabilities, though my wife thinks I have ADD. I think she’s mostly joking, but I am old enough that that diagnosis wasn’t around back then, so I was never tested for that.

Really, though. How many times do I hear someone say that they’re bored? Pick up a book. How much crime could we prevent if we got more people interested in reading? I don’t mean to say that we could get rid of all of it, but surely some idle hands wouldn’t find the “devil’s workshop” if the put them around a book.

We don’t all enjoy the same kind of books. I’ve always assumed that readers like some sort of story. My son does to some degree, but he really excells at technical reading. Maybe that’s better if he’s going to read Grey’s Anatomy on the way to the medical profession.

Now I can hear the laughter from the other room over my Kindle playing The Cars “Shake It Up”. I guess the party is almost in full swing.

Maybe THAT’S how we need to sell reading. A party in your head.

I stumbled upon one author that I love many years ago. She certainly made it close to a party atmosphere in my head. I joined the Science Fiction Book club and got some books free with the purchase of a single book and I was introduced to Anne McCaffrey. I think the first book of hers that I read was The White Dragon. I started The Dragonriders of Pern in the middle of the series. I didn’t realize that it was science fiction as it read more like fantasy. Only later did I find out about the technological origins of the people of Pern. My dad even enjoyed them.

This was when my parents were going through a divorce and my dad had to rent a place in Escondido, CA, down the hill from Valley Center, where the family had lived. He borrowed some books from me and really surprised me when he read all about Pern. He was more of a Louis L’amour guy. My dad was really into westerns and John Wayne, so for him to like science fiction really said something about the author. He always referred to Star Trek as Star Dreck or something like that. I don’t know to this day if he actually liked Star Trek and was making fun or if he didn’t really like it at all.

He’s gone now and I can ask my sister, but I may never know. But he did tell me that he liked the Dragonriders.

That’s another reason to read. You can share and talk with friends and family who read. That’s been a problem for me as many people in my larger family are simply not readers.

I don’t get it.

Remember those commercials that said, “Reading Is Fundamental”?

I saw those and it just made sense to me. I didn’t really understand at the time how many people needed to hear that message. Also, remember the “A mind is a terrible thing to waste” commercials?

Some in my family have been annoyed when I shared my personal belief that “Reading Is Not Optional”.

That reminds me. I get a little annoyed when someone wants me to explain a book to them that they haven’t read. I don’t mind if they are thinking about reading it, but some people
basically want me to summarize a book for them so they can “get it” and not have to go to the effort of reading it.

You’re kidding, right? Yes, I’m talking about you, Jack, if you ever read this.

We can go places when we read. Expose ourselves to new ideas. Challenge long-held beliefs. Reinforce others.

Quite simply, we expand our world.

We need more people who want to expand their world. I didn’t mean to get ranty here, but I’m tired of people who don’t want to potentially expand their thinking.

I think I’m about 30 years tired of it. I think it’s time for something. Maybe I’ll talk about that next time.

In the meantime, either read a book or write a book. Or both.

Leave a Reply

