You Can Laugh It Off

Just seconds ago I was typing another title in the space that WordPress provides. Then, the mystery keystroke combination highlighted the words and swept them away before I could complete a breath. Shouldn’t be that simple. They should have a fix by now. That would be customer service and/or better design. I could get upset about it and still do sometimes.

Or, I can laugh it off.

If you’re like me you forget that laughing it off is an option sometimes.

Let’s decide. You and me both. Let’s decide to laugh more things off than we get upset about. It really is a decision.
Don’t believe me? Read Marshall Rosenberg’s Nonviolent Communication. Go see him before he’s gone. You will realize how many of our reactions are within our control.

This little pitch, blurb, commercial, whatever is not where I’m going this morning. I don’t know exactly where I’m going, but we’ll get there.
For those of you who are new…Welcome to my morning pages. (Not all pages are done in the morning. No refunds.)

Our son went to Disneyland last night to celebrate Leap Day. I was born on the 28th of February, 1963. Many people tell me that I was almost a leap year baby and I tell them that would
have been really hard on my mom because that would mean that she carried me a YEAR and a day more. As I understand it, that would have been really hard on me, too.

I’ve never thought of celebrating leap day that way. I haven’t really “celebrated” leap day that I can remember. When I was in college I lived with a family that had a daughter who was a year and a day younger than me. She was born on February 29. She seemed really well-adjusted. I think she’s a veterinarian now. Did I spell that right? I guess spellcheck would alert me. It doesn’t seem to like my spelling of spellcheck.

I don’t remember that young gal doing anything special about leap day and she was born on it!

However, that doesn’t mean I think my son was wrong.

Just as we can choose to laugh something off, we can also choose to celebrate or not.
Our son chose to celebrate leap day.

Maybe we need more of that. Depending on who you talk to, there are a lot of celebrations already.
Maybe what we need is an attitude of celebration.

Got stuck there for a moment…

Really. How much do you celebrate or have an attitude of celebration? We would probably get along better if we did. Oh, I’m sure there are exceptions. There are twisted people who would celebrate things inappropriately, to put it mildly. We have seen that in the war on terror or whatever we call it now. How can someone celebrate someone’s death? I guess there are exceptions to that, too. If I was suffering under and actual dictator and he died, I guess I could see that as a cause for celebration.

But those exceptions aside, what does it mean to have an attitude of celebration? Is it related to a sense of wonder? Maybe all that’s required is that we not take things and people for granted. Maybe.

What if we told the people that we love “I love you”. Often. I do.
What if we reminded our friends that we really cared about them. Not just with actions or words, buth with both.
If we are a person who prays, how often do we pray for our friends?
If we are a person who sends positive energy to them, how often do we do that?

However we do that, do we do it often?

How much better is that time spent, then the time spent watching a movie? Especially, watching a movie for the second time? The third time?

James Taylor sang, “Shower the people you love with love.” At least I think that’s what he sang.

And what about strangers? I sometimes remember that I’m not being as friendly to strangers as I used to be when I was in my twenties. Or when I was a kid kid. People used to say how friendly I was.

That’s a place to improve, too. Doing it because you remind yourself to do it is just as ok as if you didn’t have to stop and think to be that way. Some may see it as a step backwards, but it’s certainly better than not being friendly.

What if we stopped and thought about being more friendly. Telling people that we care. Even that we love them. I know for some of us that’s hard, but I give you permission to turn over a new leaf. Right now. Tell them Charlie said it’s ok. It’ll be ok. In fact, it might even be great! Fantastic! Wonderful! Celebratory!

Celebrate Me Home. That’s another song lyric. Kenny Loggins.

Right now would be a great time to go to YouTube and search Celebrate Me Home. And James Taylor. (See above.) Celebrate by Kool and the Gang. Sure, you could check out Eve of Destruction for nostalgia or curiousity, but for now, these type of songs. Make a mix “tape”. Let’s see…what other songs are there?

Feeling romantic and a little celebratory or want to? David Bowie’s Let’s Dance maybe.

Want to help the homeless or have a smile for a less than uber-neat stranger? Maybe David Bowie & Queen Under Pressure.
What about We Are The World?

The Greatest Love Of All by Whitney Houston?

What songs help you be celebratory?
What songs remind you to be demonstative with your love?

Loving you, is easy cause you’re beautiful. Minnie Riperton

Did you know that song is about Maya Rudolph when she was a baby? But, as they say, I digress…

There are lots of songs that we can play that will remind us to be engaged or engage “the better angels of our nature”.

If music be the food of love, play on.

4 responses

  1. I enjoyed reading your blog very much. I don’t think we can ever tell the people we care about we love them enough times in a day. If everyone showed love and gave love openly and honestly, this world would be a better day. Have a blessed day.
    Shirley

    1. Thank you, Shirley! You, too! Did you read my post where I mentioned that I read or recite the 23rd Psalm every day? I’m still doing it – around 150 days in. I believe doing that is helping me now in writing every day. Amazingly, the 23rd Psalm takes less than a minute to read. 🙂

  2. If all your words get swept away, just press CTRL + Z and it will “Undo” your last keystrokes. Easy fix. 🙂 Works in pretty much all applications.

    1. Thank you! Have a great day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

