This Blog Set A Record Today

Today was really something in the short life (so far) of this blog. Over 100 visitors in one day. Pretty cool. Twitter has been a big help. So has my alien buddy, Tweet Geist Guy.

I’m not sure what this means for the future, but Twitter will be part of it. If you’re not using Twitter to publicize your blog, you are missing out. If you’re not seeing much activity and you have a Twitter account, it’s probably because you don’t have enough followers. Follow people and most will follow you back. Also, Tweet Geist Guy follows a lot of writers & bloggers. I figure that writers write.

Many people don’t understand the equation. People will respond to your messages on Twitter. Get lots of people to follow you. Follow people who will respond. To do that, follow people and you’ll eventually figure out who responds. If you retweet someone else’s message and they don’t acknowledge OR return the favor, I suggest you don’t retweet them for a while. Maybe they don’t get it. Maybe they don’t care or maybe they’re just not there right now.

Did you know that you can send your tweets in automatically through different services? If the people who follow you are doing this, but they NEVER or rarely are actually on Twitter themselves, they are not going to be responsive.

I don’t see anything wrong with having that service if you are actually spending some real time on Twitter OR if what you have to share is of such great value that merely sharing it is a good thing. I think Guy Kawasaki falls in this second category. I don’t think he actually spends time on Twitter, but he sends some truly helpful, informational or WOW-type links. If he ever sends crap on a regular basis I am sure that will be reflected in his vast number of followers not being so vast after a while.

Most people give up too soon. I see some people asking for help because they are “this” close to whatever magic number. The problem with asking for people – begging people, in a sense – to follow you is that they probably won’t be that responsive to you. They’re just a number and ultimately, you would like people to respond to you or retweet you or take action in some way because of what you tweet. If you give up because you’ve got 1200 followers and not much is happening, maybe you need to get more followers.

Tweet Geist Guy now has over 9,000 followers. On December 8th of 2011 he didn’t exist on Twitter. Over 100 visitors to this blog today. He invaded my brain and since he’s taking up space, the least he can do is tell people about my blog when he thanks them for following him. What if he has 50,000 followers by this time next year. That is very possible if people continue to follow him at about the same rate. Next year I could be saying that I have 600 or 700 followers each day. That might not seem like much compared to the big websites, but it’s pretty darn good for a blog.

What about 5 years from now? Tweet Geist Guy could 250,000 followers and possibly 3000 people a day could be visiting this blog. I’ve seen people who have a blog and have been posting for years and maybe their total is 17,000 visitors total. 3000 people a day is over 1 MILLION visitors a year. I’m not saying this will get someone rich, but it might. Also, if your goal is for lots of people to see your writing so that you can sell books, keep getting more followers to your Twitter account and send them to your blog.

We did an experiment a couple weeks ago with an income opportunity & sent out a message about a dozen times a day for a few days. I got visitors to the website, but no real results monetarily. And, every now and then, when Tweet Geist Guy tries to follow someone, it says that they have blocked him from following. Not very often, but my guess is that those messages bothered some people because of their content – making money – and their frequency. My only other guess is that some people might be freaked out by talk of aliens.

My point is that you want to send messages that you expect are going to be of some interest to your audience. Some people might decide to not follow you and that’s their choice. But if you send something they find obnoxious, that might encourage them to block you. Many people consider money-making opportunities obnoxious, I guess. But that experiment is over with Tweet Geist Guy.

What do YOU want to say with your Twitter account? With your blog? I’m still formulating my message. Finding my audience. And I have more than one purpose. Right now I’m practicing writing using Julia Cameron’s method or a loose approximation of it. More and more people are following Tweet Geist Guy and me – CNetwork1 – on Twitter. When I finally get my books written, maybe I’ll have a sympathetic audience. That’s my hope.

Also, in this process I am not just stretching my muscles in a literary (ok, quasi-literary) way, I’m making progress in defining my literary goals more specifically. Not matter what area your goals lie in, being specific will definitely help you get there faster. Have you defined your goals? Are you specific?

You really can do what you want to do.

Have you heard those people who say you can have it all?

I’ve been involved with personal development work for nearly two decades now. My friend and mentor, Fran Cannon, has helped thousands of people create better lives for themselves or at least, given them the tools to do so.

You CAN’T have it all. Did I fool you? Did you think I was going to say that you CAN have it all?

Nope.

BUT, and it’s a huge BUT- you can have what you want.

You can’t be the next Michael Jordan, the next Barack Obama, the next Brad Pitt and the next Albert Einstein.

You can pick one thing and do it incredibly well. Maybe even two.

There are sacrifices that you have to make.

If you want to be a great writer, you first have to be a good writer. In order to be a good writer you have to be a writer.

You have to write to be a writer. Otherwise, you’re an idea guy. Nothing wrong with that, per se, but you have to write something down to be a writer.

That takes time. You can even get the technology so you can speak into a microphone and it translates that into writing. I might do that someday.

They say it’s faster. The thing is…writing means putting in the time to write.

If you are writing that means that the time you took to write was time that you didn’t use for something else.

I’m not a great multitasker, but I don’t think anyone is going to be doing much else at the exact time that they are writing.

Maybe humming. I guess you could hum and write, but I don’t see a lot of money being made (or art, for that matter) in the humming business.

So, turn off the TV. Or cut short a conversation. Move faster doing something else so you can get down to writing. Or whatever it is that you want to do.

I didn’t really get down to it until I was 49 years old.

Some would say I haven’t really started yet, but don’t let critics get you down.

When I was 4 yrs old I asked my mom, “How will I learn to read?”

I remember that I was looking at a billboard in Encinitas, CA next to a 7-Eleven that’s still there. Just a couple blocks from moonlight beach, riding in the car with my mom.
I didn’t understand what the symbols on the billboard meant. My mom told me that I didn’t have to worry, that I would learn to read.

About the same time I learned to read, I learned to write.

When people ask me how long it took me to write my first book I guess I’ll tell them it took me about 45 years.

Leave a Reply

