You Can Even Write In Bed

Whether you haven’t really gotten up yet or you just want to rest, writing in bed is one possibility. I think Joe Eszterhas sometimes wrote this way. He also said that if you’re a writer, that’s what you should be doing. Not networking or anything else. Maybe he is a better negotiator than the rest of us. In case you are wondering, this is day two of my writing exercise a la Julia Cameron’s method. Just keep writing. I don’t know if my thinking is getting in the way or if using a keyboard was what she intended, but here I am.

Lots of luck to all of us. It’s not easy to keep going no matter what. I feel like I need to type faster than I am and not worry if gibberish comes out. Some of you may not realize that any editing that’s taking place is simply happening in my head. I do correct the occasional misspelling, but not necessarily. If you will allow yourself the freedom to make mistakes and not judge, maybe that’s how you get to the place where it simply flows out of you.

You must push yourself and push yourself in a good way. This is a challenge and yet it is not. Let go to let it flow. When I was a child I had a fever. My hands felt like two balloons. Loved that Pink Floyd stuff. But this is the opposite of comfortably numb. Perhaps. What is coming out is not comfortable and yet it is becoming more so. Thank God for the automatic draft saver. Just lost and recovered a couple paragraphs! THAT wouldn’t happen on paper! Oh, Sony VAIO, how do you suck? Let me count the ways. Are you prejudiced against my fat fingers? LOL

Sometimes you just have to keep going. You don’t want it to dry up. And yet, maybe this exercise is a way to access something in your brain that let’s this become automatic. Except, that it will make more sense eventually?

How many pages did Julia say to do? At least 3? Is this the equivalent of one yet? 😉 Of course, there were no emoticons when she wrote The Artist’s Way.

Do you remember writing in middle school? I remember being very ambitious to start and forgetting about the assignment and finishing it a couple hours before it was due. I think my beginning was much better than my ending. Maybe we DO simply need practice. I’ve heard that most of us draw like third graders because we stopped drawing in the third grade. Is that what people do with writing, too?

So Darwinian ideas are wrong for this. We need encouragement to keep going. At least, some of us do. Not false praise, but finding what we did right and going on from there. Plus, we don’t want to be too hard on ourselves. We should encourage one another. I have a friend who doesn’t like the word should. He says that we should all over ourselves, but I think we should do good things to and for one another and ourselves and encouragement is one of those things. Maybe I believe that because my spiritual path includes the idea that I have the spiritual gift of encouragement.

However, there are problems with the survival of the fittest. Einstein wouldn’t have done very well without help. They say he used to walk out in the snow in his robe while he was lost in thought. SOMEbody must have believed in him because they thought he was retarded in (was it?) first gradeou?. I think we can all agree that he had something to contribute.

So, what is stopping you? Not doing is what stops us from doing. We have to get out there and get going. Get SOMEthing down. Get the words out. If you’re not a writer, then what is it that YOU have to get out into the world?

I’m not sure whether or not I have to lose the instructional part of this in order to do this exercise to the best of my ability. Is that just who I am? I want you to know something that will benefit you? Whatever it is, I must keep going. Please keep in mind that most people do this exercise privately, so don’t worry if you’re contemplating doing it. Also, sorry if any terminology offends you. I am attempting to stay true to the exercise and unlike Bowie’s character in China Girl, I don’t really have “visions of swastikas in my head. Plans for everyone.”

I guess you could say that music sticks in my head. I love music. I had a personality test that measured, among other things, my love of music. I’m in the 98th percentile with regard to my love of music. What about you? My love of clerical work in down in the 9th percentile. 91% of you love clerical work more than I do! Can you believe it?

And I want to write. It’s taken me a long time to figure that out. Have you figured it out?

I’m not exactly sure where this is going and that’s ok. What would Clint Eastwood say? What would Clint Eastwood do? WWCED? LOL

I’m not sure if this is winding down. No. I’m determined to go on. Must keep writing. I have visions of Captain Kirk struggling for something. Some goal. Life or death.

Though we are freer, because this is not life or death. It’s just an exercise. But it could mean the difference in having a book published by this December or 5 years from now.

So I’m going to keep practicing. Keep doing this exercise. What about you? Can you trust yourself enough to let go and let it out?

Will you judge it as silly or impractical or a waste of time? I honestly think & believe Julia Cameron’s methods have value and I don’t necessarily agree with every bit of where she’s coming from spiritually. Let go and let God? Let go and let your unconscious mind loose?

Will you be running through the back yard naked? I don’t know. That’s for you to decide.

Right now I’m reclining in bed and I think it’s time to get up and go for a walk. Or, maybe,

It’s time to shop!

One response

  1. Watch out for Kirk’s karate chop! 🙂 Keep writing.

Leave a Reply

